top of page

About Us:

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated is an organization of college-educated women committed to the constructive development of its members and to public service with a primary focus on the Black community.

Founders: Winona Cargile Alexander, Madree Penn White, Wertie Blackwell Weaver, Vashti Turley Murphy, Ethel Cuff Black, Frederica Chase Dodd, Osceola Macarty Adams, Pauline Oberdofer Minor, Edna Brown Coleman, Edith Mott Young, Marguerite Young Alexander, Naomi Sewell Richardson, Eliza P. Shippen, Zephyr Chisom Carter, Myra Davis Hemmings, Mamie Reddy Rose, Bertha Pitts Campbell, Florence Letcher Toms, Olive Jones, Jessie McGuire Dent, Jimmie Bugg Middleton, Ethel Carr Watson.

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. is a private, non-private organization whose purpose is to provide assistance and support through established programs in local communities throughout the world. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University. These women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; to provide support to the underserved; educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy, and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in their communities. The first public act performed by the Delta Founders involved their participation in the Women's Suffrage March in Washington D.C., March 1913. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was incorporated in 1930.

The Muskegon Heights Alumnae Chapter was organized on December 12, 1976.  The twelve charter members dedicated themselves to the ideal and purpose of the Delta founders. The founding charter members of the Muskegon Heights Alumnae Chapter are: Alice Allen, Owena Barnes, Emma Burt, AnnMarie Easley, Ora Hines, Norma Newsome, Janet Ragland, Donna Steele, Ida Thompson, Shirley Turner, Mildred Washington, and Velma Williams-Shae.

The Muskegon Heights Alumnae Chapter Delta D.E.A.R.S. (Dedicated--Energetic--Active--Respected--Soror) are members of Delta Sigma Theta's sisterhood who have been blessed to reach the golden age of 62 years. Dedicated to upholding the ideals and traditions of their sorority, Delta D.E.A.R.S. set a standard of excellence in service, scholarship.


MHAC Delta Dears:  Troycie Nichols, Francis Wright, Velma Williams-Shae, Pat Watson, Evie Harrison, Iva Nell Jones, Kim Fisher, and Cynthia Smith.

bottom of page